Posted on

Alcohol, Flappers, and Glitter – OHMY!

thats-the-best-thing-a-girl-can-be-in-thisA movie full of huge parties full of the rich and fabulous, love triangles, and amazing clothes? Yeahh… sounds like something I could really be into. Which I was! My friend Becky and I went to see The Great Gatsby on Saturday and I was all about it! The first half of the movie was full of over the top parties with wayyyy too many people throwing themselves into a pool (why would you do that when you are dressed to the nines… makes no sense) and a sick sick playlist featuring Jay Z, Will.I.Am., and Beyoncé [which how crazy is it that Gatsby had Jay Z on his playlists in the 20s?! If that doesn’t show how ahead of the curve he was I don’t know what does!]. Those parties looked like something I would really enjoy going to… but not throwing cause it looked like a lot to clean up in the morning.GG gif

Leo was such a ‘great’ <<yeah I did that, pun INTENDED>> Gatsby – minus the “old sport” that he ended everyyyy singggleeee one of his sentences with… it really didn’t make him sound more mature or like he was born polished and with a silver spoon in his mouth or whatevs – it actually just sounded like he was doing a really bad impersonation of JFK, but then again, I guess Gatsby wasn’t born saying “old sport” either. One thing I did notice though is that Leo always has to compete with a rich, entitled douchebag in his films!! You know what I’m talking about, ya think we forgot about Cal from Titanic?Titanic pic I sure didn’t – and now he has to deal with fighting Tom Buchanan for his love’s affection? Can’t he catch a break?!tom gif Why does he always have to die and not get the girl? It’s just not the best scenarios for poor poor Leo.

I will mention the one thing that I didn’t get: I was a little confused about the fact that Nick ends up in a sanitarium after Gatsby’s death. Nick is the most rational of the group, yet he is supposedly driven insane by the cruelty and corruption of the city and the people in it?? Yeah… I don’t get that but that’s just a small blip in the amazingness that is this movie.

And don’t even get me STARTED on Daisy!! She. Is. The. WORST!!! The most selfish trick everrrr – she doesn’t even go to Gatsby’s FUNERAL. So much for her being in love with him!! But then… there was this: daisy ringand yes, I’m only talking about the ring, not how pretty this shallow whore is!

So this is what I got from this movie – the 20s upper class was all about doing things careless, fast and loud while showing off who had the biggest… Ummmm… number in the bankity bank (you guys are pervs) – getting money ((or getting paid – thank you rap music)) is the easy thing… but as usual in any book or movie we’ve seen or read, the key is that love is the hard and dangerous part of life. I knowwww, I just took you for a ride to SHOCKTOWN I’m sure [and no I didn’t drive like an effin idiot like Gatsby did in that movie]… but it’s true – darn those matters of the heart. It might just be the death of all of us.

GG2Were you even aware that selfies were all the rage in the 20s?! I didn’t but HEYYOOO, Daisy and Gatsby were trendsetters, as you can see, so it must be true!gg parties

2 responses to “Alcohol, Flappers, and Glitter – OHMY!

  1. Fantastic goods from you, man. I’ve take into accout your stuff previous to and you are just too wonderful. I actually like what you have got right here, certainly like what you are stating and the way in which you are saying it. You make it enjoyable and you still care for to keep it smart. I can’t wait to learn much more from you. That is actually a wonderful website.

  2. Great review – I totally agree with you about DiCaprio being the perfect (dare I say the greatest?) Gatsby.

Leave a Reply

