Posted on

Douchebaggery

Wednesday night, my friend Becky and I went to the Hawks game with two of our guy friends. It was an epic event filled with school night cocktails, Floyd Mayweather and free upgraded floor seats amongst the rich and famous. <<Pretty good lead in to the topic of this post huh?? Don’t you wish you were with us that night??>> Well the guys we were with are kind of amazing and open and while we were chatting about some hotties and douchey guys that kept passing one of our guys asked: Why do girls go for that type of guy? I, of course, tried to laugh it off and be like whhhaaa?? That’s not true – but as a girl we know it is. Girls love douchebags, bad boys and all of the stupid games they play but now that I’m starting to get older, the appeal in that type of characteristics starts to mature along with our age. Don’t get me wrong though, I still like a guy with a little edge but now I’m looking for one that’s nice but isn’t a pushover, has a career and basically has the aura of still being a bit douchey without actually being one.

A lot of girls seem to be obsessed with the fairytale romance straight out of our favorite romantic comedy… I’m not into that at all. I’m not the type of girl that needs to be in a relationship. I feel like if you are basing yourself on your relationship status no guy is EVER going to want to pursue that. And I can vouch that the older you get, the more intense the pressure is on this one. It’s pretty pathetic but life goes on. Like I told my friend Becky the other night ((Orrrr at least I tried to tell her this – it sounded much better in my head)), they just happen – relationships, that is – we can’t act like we’re casting the lead in the movie that is our life until we find the right guy all the time. We will never ever ever be able to find a boyfriend that way.

But once you find a guy who is boyfriend potential how do you not get fooled by the games guys play? How many more bs movies like He’s Just Not That Into You do we have to sit through before we learn not to be tricked into delusional dating? Lots of guys lead girls on for the most obvious reason in the world ((which I feel no need to write down)) but this isn’t why we get deceived or confused. We get deceived strictly by the way we view the interactions with the other person… i.e. hanging out, texting and yeah ok, hook ups.  I have been guilty of this on more than one occasion, believe me. Making something out of nothing is my motto. Girls gif - You tend to over think thingsLook, if a guy is trying to date you – I’m pretty sure he’ll be clear about it. Yeah they play stupid games, but if someone wants to be your boyfriend I seriously doubt you’re going to miss the freaking memo… so this is what I propose: Be honest with guys, even if it might take you out of your comfort zone or if it’s a little embarrassing… at least then you have laid all of your cards on the table and the ball is in his court – it’s ok if it takes a few pickle backs or brews to get it out of you because everyone knows alcohol confessions always count.

Leave a Reply

