Posted on

Meet my main squeeze Becky

ATTENTION!!! Take a timeout from stalking randos on Facebook, twittering about KimYe’s lovechild, and focus! This is a BIG deal… ok so it’s not the biggest deal, but I did something new!  I asked my best frandss… to write a guest blog. I thought that it would be a good way to start our new year… so I asked them what they would like to accomplish in 2013. They came up with some good goals to share with you guys – and the first post is coming from Becky. She kinda rocks my socks with her rainbows and butterflies persona [never seen anything like it] and her goals this year are legit so I’m going to help corrupt her some more this year and make sure all of her dreams come true. I’m like Mary Poppins that way! I’m going to let her introduce herself so take it away my friend!

Hello to all! I’m sure by now you all have read some of Katie’s blogs involving me, but to formally introduce myself, I’m Becky. I’m pretty bad at describing myself so I’m just going to list off some basics for you to the get the picture. I’m almost 25 (ahh!!!), blonde hair, blue eyes, I guess I’m a southern belle… definitely shy and on the quiet side, a people pleaser, I like to smile and laugh a lot, I see the glass half full (all the time!), I’m sarcastic and I make a lot of corny jokes (I always laugh and slap my knee at them…). I work for my families business as the marketing guru and at J. Crew on the side (because I have a shopping problem). Outside of work, I spend most of my time at the gym (slightly obsessed), playing tennis, traveling to see friends (Boston is the best city ever!) and hanging out with my BFF’s! I think that sums it up for now!

This year, 2013, I have 4 resolutions. All of them result in the same thing: Me being happy (Sounds selfish and maybe egotistical, but I have issues with it). The first two are a little lighter, but I truly believe it’s the small things in life that make you happy.

  1. I recently moved to the city to start 2013! Yayy! With my new life in the city, I want to try at least 2 new restaurants/bars every month. I want to make the most of my new life change and I think this will be a great way to do so. This leads into my second resolution because they go hand in hand…
  2. I am indeed a native Atlantan. Born and raised (minus the 4 years I went to school in Ohio) and I shamefully must admit to things I have never done in the city! I have never been to a Hawks game, crazy, I know! Other things on the list of many include: Climb Stone Mountain, Spend an afternoon in Piedmont Park, Eat at Mary Macs Tea House and Pitty Pats Porch. You all get the idea.

The next two get a little deeper. Before addressing them, there a few things you should know about me. I think two words almost everyone would say about me when asked are: Sweet and Kind. I have been burned many times and left in heartache because of these two qualities, but I refuse to change those things about me, because it IS who I am and how I define myself. On the less positive side, two of my worst qualities are my lack of confidence and my inability to put myself out there. These two qualities really hinder all parts of my life, however easier said than done to change them. So onto my last 2 resolutions…

  1. Be more confident in myself. Although my family and friends (esp my amazing chica’s Katie, Court and E) tell me all the time I am an amazing person and beautiful, I just don’t see it in myself. This applies to all aspects of my life: dating, work, looks etc… I lost a lot of weight within the past couple of years (still very curvy and not a size 2, 4 or 6!), I am happy with myself, but still don’t think I am pretty. I doubt myself a lot at work and don’t always think I know what I am doing (which I don’t always), so I want to be more confident that the work I do is quality (I am a very hard worker, always give 100% and I’m constantly told by my boss how awesome I am and he couldn’t do what he does without me), I just need to believe that myself. My lack of confidence when it comes to dating and boys (liking me) is atrocious and too complicated to go into, just know that I have 0% confidence in that fact that guys want to date me and therefore REALLY want to work on gaining confidence there.
  2. Finally, I recently realized I have two fears that really hold me back (and mess with my confidence) that I want to work on in 2013. First, I have a HUGE fear of rejection. I know no one wants to or enjoys being rejected, but I literally can’t stand the thought. So as Katie tells me often, I need to be more ballsy and do ballsy things. The worst that can happen is something doesn’t work out or someone says no (just typing that made me nauseous). My second fear is not being wanted (also messing with my confidence). I have a lot of really great friends. Katie, Courtney and Erin are such amazing friends it’s insane , I don’t know how I got so lucky. I also have a group of guy friends I grew up with and I know would die/kill for me (and now their amazing GF’s as well, esp my Love Muff). I’ve kept in touch w 3 great people who I don’t go a week without talking to from college and my bff from high school who is more like my sister. So I know what I’m about to say sounds STUPID, but yet, I have a fear of not actually being wanted by any of these people or by new people I meet (possible love interests to be specific). I get worried people don’t actually like me, or want to hang out with me or would want to me (again, specific to love interests). It stems from past friends who have burned/ hurt me and guys that I have dated who have done the same. So in 2013, I WILL get past this ridiculous fear and realize that I AM wanted and loved.

So wish me luck in 2013! I think these are all very achievable resolutions (in which I’ll be needing my chica’s to help me with for sure!). I am sure there will be highs and lows, jokes/smiles and probably some more heartache and tears. But I WILL be happy and I WILL give it my all!

– Becky

My Ride or Die Trick

Image

Leave a Reply

